Pattern Review · Sewing · Uncategorized

Sew Over It’s Tulip Skirt…Take 1/2

A while back I wrote how someday I wished for post where ‘disaster’ wouldn’t be a tag, I thought this skirt’s story would be that post. Thought, is the key word there. This is quite a simple skirt pattern from Sew Over It and as I looked over the instructions I thought that maybe I could even get through it without using the seam ripper. Alas, dear reader I was wrong.

Wearing.jpg

My most recent post is also using the same pattern, but that was the second one. I made this skirt first before I’d even cut into my silk. But alas there was absolutely no ease in the skirt and was far too small.

Detail.jpg

Having a 27″ waist I was right between the size 8 and 10 so I graded the pattern at the waist between the two then gradually out to the 10. Using left over fabric from my Bellatrix Blazer and some quilting cotton I bought ages ago (then realised how deranged I was, where on earth would I wear that colour?) to underline, I set about making this skirt.

Inside.jpg
I know I need to finish off my seams, that will be done, I just had to show off the inside of my skirt!

I french seamed it, added only one pocket, hand stitched the waistband down and put in the invisible zip. It looked great. Sadly it was far too tight measuring exactly 27″. I was gutted and incredibly frustrated. It was at this point that I made the silk version.

Ripping Stitches.jpg
I’d no thread to match the inside so I sewed with black thread. It looks messy so I won’t do that again, but it does show off my new friend the scalpel!

After a long break I undid all the seams and restitched them with a smaller allowance and got rid of the pocket out of laziness. I cut out a new a bigger waistband, interfaced and attached it.I then tried the skirt on. It was then I realised that I’d attached the waistband upside down! This meant undoing stitching (I’ve started using a scalpel rather than the seam ripper, it’s wonderful and sharp!) and cutting out a new waistband because I’d already graded the seams.

Cutting out Waistband.jpg
This was the second waistband being cut out, my big mistake here was not putting in marking so I put the waisband in upside down!

In the end, it was smooth but tedious sailing from there and the third waistband went in without a hitch. I inserted the invisible zip at first by hand then using the machine. I then hand stitched the hem.

Zip.jpg
Despite having a record for being easy I seem to have issues with invisible zips, this is one of my better ones but still not perfect.

This skirt is better than the first, the waistband at the back matches up perfectly and the hem is better sewn. It’s always nice to clearly see improvements in your sewing. That said, I did face the harsh reality that I’m not as thin as I thought, a mistake I won’t make again (I hope)!

So, have you ever made something where you made every mistake or just had everything go wrong? Please tell me, I seem to make too much of a habit of it!

 

8 thoughts on “Sew Over It’s Tulip Skirt…Take 1/2

  1. You have so much patience to unpick it all and redo the seams again. The result is fantastic though, love the pleats and the finish is so neat!

    Doing something wrong…I do that all the time! I learn more from failures than successes, though the latter is more welcomed :p

    I also have a stash of quiltinh cotton that I bought but realised I’d never wear them…their fate will be: (1) lining material, (2) toile material, or (3) made into kid’s clothing. The lining on your skirt looks cute!

    Like

  2. Your skirt has come out lovely, I’m quite new to dressmaking and makes lots of mistakes but as Sil says above you learn more this way. I spend lots of time unpicking even though I make a muslin out of charity shop duvet covers. I hope they will happen less as I gain experience but I’m not sure it will?? As long as I’m sewing I’m happy!

    Like

    1. Charity shop duvet covers, that’s a brilliant idea. I’m normally a stickler for muslins but I thought with this pattern as it *looked* so simple I couldn’t go wrong!
      One thing I love about sewing is that you actually see yourself improve, in that you have complete evidence of how this time was better. I suppose that’s something of a comfort after failures!
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. You are not alone, this happens to me too often! I have sewed pockets in the wrong way, cut fabric that wasn’t folded evenly (ending up with a sleeve and a half) and put things in upside down too many times to count. I just consider it all part of sewing! You still ended up with a cute skirt so how you got there doesn’t matter šŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.