Pattern Review · Sewing · Uncategorized

Knit Skirt

The blog has been a little quiet for the last while, not because I’m not sewing but because my recent makes are ‘repeat’s. I’ll post about them together in the future, but today I’m going to talk about a knit skirt I made. This isn’t quite Gertie’s Easy Knit Pencil Skirt, because the pattern was/is at my boyfriend’s, but I traced the outline of another similar skirt I have and used Gertie’s instructions.

Skirt front.jpg

The skirt is made of two pattern pieces, the exact same for the back and front, with an elastic waistband as a facing. The fabric is a €5 remenant, I interlined it with a starry fabric that I was kindly given as a present. Together there isn’t a huge amount of stretch but it feels nice and wintery.

skirt hem.jpg
I quite like the starry fabric on the inside!

The construction was fairly straight forward and I serged my side seams. My only issue was the waistband, I’d a little difficulty getting the tension right. Once I finally did I then melted the elastic with my iron! Another trip to the very expensive haberdashery and I’d more elastic.

Waistband.jpg
This is the attached unburned waistband!

There’s not a huge amount else to say…it’s a very ‘me’ skirt, I love short, tight and comfortable skirts. The fabric is very glittery…something I own nothing of! So this is slightly out of my comfort zone, I’m not entirely sure if this is appropriate for class in college?

Skirt.jpg
As you can see the skirt front and back are completely identical.

I’ve more fabric for this, but I’m going to wait so I can make any adjustments, I’m not wild about how the facing is attached, so I think I’ll do it slightly differently in the future. But overall I’m pleased with this skirt, and I want to get a lot of wear out of it.

One thought on “Knit Skirt

Comments are closed.